It is illegal to get behind the wheel of a car when you know you can’t drive safely. In fact, it is illegal to drive with a certain blood alcohol level even if that much alcohol doesn’t notably change your driving skill.
Texas drivers accused of driving while intoxicated (DWI) will likely get arrested after failing a breath test or field sobriety test. They will face certain penalties if convicted. An awareness of those penalties could be a powerful motivation to fight back against the DWI charge.
Even if this was your first impaired driving offense and there are no aggravating factors, incarceration is typically still mandatory. A first offense carries a minimum of three days but might lead to up to 180 days in state custody. Additional offenses will increase the possible jail time, with a third DWI carrying between two and 10 years in prison.
Texas can assess Financial penalties after a DWI conviction of up to $2,000 for a first offense. Additional offenses will increase the fine just like they would increase the incarceration time possible, with a third DWI in Texas meaning $10,000 in fines. There will also be thousands of dollars in state fines.
The loss of your license
It can be a logistical nightmare to have the state suspend your license, but that is exactly what you may have to deal with after pleading guilty to a DWI. The state may take away your driving privileges for up to a year for a first DWI and two years if you have previous DWI convictions on your record.
Recognizing the significant penalties for a DWI conviction will help you better respond to pending charges.