Texas law is relatively generous when it comes to the right to own firearms. There are very few limitations on someone’s right to own or carry a weapon.
However, there are a handful of circumstances in which the police could arrest you and charge you with a crime for possessing what would otherwise be a legal firearm. Any of the three situations below could lead to firearms charges under Texas law.
If you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol
Texas state laws on firearm use and the right to carry a firearm are clear. Intoxicated individuals should not have direct control over a firearm. Once you have had a few drinks, you should leave your firearms alone. Carrying or brandishing a firearm while clearly under the influence of alcohol could lead to an arrest.
If you have recent criminal convictions or certain felonies
Texas law limits the right of people to own firearms for five years after a conviction for certain offenses, like assault. There are also federal laws that limit firearm ownership after criminal charges for offenses like domestic violence. That prohibition often lasts for life instead of just for five years.
If you aren’t 21 years of age
It is possible to legally own and operate a firearm when you are under 21 years of age. However, you cannot necessarily carry or brandish the firearm in public. Young adults to get caught carrying a firearm in public in Texas could potentially face charges for that decision.
Understanding Texas firearm laws can help you avoid a possibly serious criminal charge. If you are facing a weapons-related charge, it’s crucial to know and protect your rights.